In Conversation with… Sabian Wilde

Marketing Lecturer. Writer. Music Bod. Claims to have coined 'Perthonality'

With a little help from my friends…

with one comment

Today I bought a lot of books in one of the few remaining second-hand book shops where the books are stacked almost to the ceiling, precariously hanging off and over shelves, full of forgotten lore….

It was exactly the same sort of sense of safety I used to get from hanging out in those places as a child… hundreds of thousands of impossible worlds, lives, adventures and tragedies stacked higgledy-piggledy against the fundamentals of physics, ‘Life-Lite’ Literature and motorcycle mechanics.

I stayed there for hours, and then made a deal with the owner so I can go back and clean up his comic collection.

It will give me an enormous sense of well-being, feeding some of my obsessive-compulsive tendencies, but also attempting to bring order to chaos, and to care for these objects, which are remnants of other people’s dreams or quest for knowledge.

Books are the shadow on the wall of Plato’s cave…

Written by Xab

Tuesday, August 31, 2010 at 11:58 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Have you ever visited http://www.elizabethsbookshop.com.au/
    ?

    Sometimes when I cannot find a book in my local Dymocks, I can find it here.

    The location is definitely worth a visit!

    Snerky McSnerk

    Wednesday, March 2, 2011 at 1:12 pm


Leave a comment