In Conversation with… Sabian Wilde

Marketing Lecturer. Writer. Music Bod. Claims to have coined 'Perthonality'

LinkedIn SinkIng

with 2 comments

Today I had to apologise.

Then vent.

Lather, rinse, repeat…
—-

Hi X__X, sorry about that..

Sorry for the intrusion… I believe you assisted me as a customer service rep over a year ago.

I gave LinkedIn permission to access my contact list, but it’s mined *all* emails and is set to ‘invite’ by default.

This has been made worse by the fact that the list of names appeared without a scrolling navbar on my iPhone.

I’m tempted to believe this is a deliberate fault in the UX design.

If so, it makes a mockery of the privacy measures that place the onus on the user to demonstrate that they know the person they’re inviting.

Clearly the same responsibilities do not apply to LinkedIn.

Apologies too for the length of this email, but once I get started, I generally end up sending a copy to the party that has used my data to make ME a spammer.

May your day be filled with satisfied customers 🙂

Sab

Written by Xab

Wednesday, April 13, 2011 at 8:55 am

Posted in Whining

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tim Coronel

    Wednesday, April 13, 2011 at 9:02 am

  2. I washed my hair on the weekend as well – we have so much in common.

    Snerky McSnerk

    Monday, April 18, 2011 at 1:38 pm


Leave a Reply

