In Conversation with… Sabian Wilde

Marketing Lecturer. Writer. Music Bod. Claims to have coined 'Perthonality'

IN CONVERSATION WITH… Ennui

with 3 comments

As will soon be obvious, I’m not in the best mood today…

Download the AUDIO, courtesy of RTRFM.

_____

Yesterday a man gave a speech about a world
In which we wouldn’t have to live in fear
Of nuclear attack…
And it was nice, yeah it was nice
And meanwhile North Korea’s launching
Invisible satellites, and they are nice…
A little harder to see…
If you don’t believe me,
Just ask the Japanese, ‘cuz
They are nice,
Just ask the whales,
Second only to Sea Shepherd
For having tall tales…

If there is a point to all of this
I hope I’m not a realist
I hope there’s still hope to be had
I hope that life ain’t all that bad
I hope the earthquakes go away
I hope the missiles do not stray
When cynicism is the norm
It makes you wonder why we’re born…

A cynic is a person who just cannot see the good
In humanity; It’s history cannot be understood
In terms of nice… Don’t ask me why.
It’s like emos who can cut themselves but never seem to die
It isn’t fair… so much despair
And nothing good to show for it but really cool hair.

If there is a point to all of this
I hope I’m not a realist
I hope there’s still hope to be had
I hope that life ain’t all that bad
I hope the earthquakes go away
I hope the missiles do not stray
When cynicism is the norm
It makes you wonder why we’re born…

But if I had to guess…
That even cynics  just like sex… a little too much.

Stop procreating
We could have a new world order
If we’d all skip a generation.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like the poem Mr Wilde. I find this guy a little depressing, but sometimes reality has to be observed:
    http://jameshowardkunstler.typepad.com/clusterfuck_nation/2009/04/strange-days.html

    This US perspective really sums up the unease we are carefully doled out in our own media. Almost like getting us inoculated to the worlds problems so we can pretend it’s not happening.

    I didn’t write the following – but I think it sums up our ‘culture’ quite well.

    “Abusers usually say they will change.

    They beat up and otherwise abuse, and sometimes even kill, wives, girlfriends, kids, and in between insist that they will get better, that they will change. Repentance and promise. Over and over.

    But they never do change – not on their own. Abuse is a basic feature of their personality (as is the controlling claim that things will change). If the battered parties truly want change they will have to do it themselves, stop believing the lie, stop lying to themselves, get out of the relationship, prosecute, fight back, flee.

    Our culture is in a classic pattern of abuse with the earth. It destroys, then it says it will change, then it destroys more. Emissions are up over 30% since Kyoto. That’s just one example out of many, many. The destruction continues to escalate, and to accelerate, even as we hold Earth Hours and celebrate being green. The abuse is a basic feature of our culture – as is the controlling claim that we will change.

    You have reached a point where you no longer believe our culture when it says to you, “I will change.” You believe our culture is lying and will never change on its own, no more than any abuser does. That it will continue through with its pattern, despite everything it says, until complete devastation is wrought, and we will be left holding nothing, nothing except the bad end of a lie we should never have believed.

    Do we not encourage abused people to fight back? To leave the abuser? Not to remain for paltry reasons like financial stability or comfort or material benefits? Why then should we remain in this relationship with our abusive culture? Because we’ve gotten used to the electric blenders? Because we’re afraid to give them up? Is that all it comes down to, only that? Is that a good enough reason to let the natural world, our landbase, our chance for a future be destroyed by this batterer, this abuser, this liar?

    When do we stop lying to ourselves and start fighting back?”

    Stevo

    Tuesday, April 7, 2009 at 8:42 pm

  2. Hey Stevo,

    This bit is spot on the mark for me: “You have reached a point where you no longer believe our culture when it says to you, “I will change.” You believe our culture is lying and will never change on its own, no more than any abuser does. That it will continue through with its pattern, despite everything it says, until complete devastation is wrought, and we will be left holding nothing, nothing except the bad end of a lie we should never have believed.”

    I’d just like to pint out that when I performed the song, I omitted the last three lines out of respect for your good news… I realised i was being a little bit too dark and would not reflect the views of many of my friends…

    But I also said: If being ME doesn’t help, God help the rest of you…

    Damn, it’s lonely at the top.

    Still up for that drink? We can toast the light that is your child and hope for something better for her.

    Xab

    Wednesday, April 8, 2009 at 11:22 am

  3. Mate we will have that drink next week, ok?
    I really appreciated your call that day as I was fairly traumatised on reflection.

    I’m glad you liked those words of wisdom, they resonated with me too. As for omitting stuff – confront the truth. We owe it to our little ones. Omit nothing I say. Others can interpret this as doomerism…but I’ve stopped worring about what others thing about what I think 🙂

    Life goes on, but forewarned is forearmed. The city paradigm has lost it’s meaning for me. I’m just waiting for enough people to wake up to reality and club together to grow a food forest.

    Did you know that an established food forest will not only feed the tribe, but takes only 12 days a year of WORK inputs (1 person per 3-4 acres to maintain. Imagine the art, culture and freedom.

    Bah I digress. I look forward to having a beer.

    Stevo

    Wednesday, April 8, 2009 at 9:14 pm


Leave a Reply

