In Conversation with… Sabian Wilde

Marketing Lecturer. Writer. Music Bod. Claims to have coined 'Perthonality'

Why I love Jonathan Coulton

with 4 comments

Jonathan Coulton is a New York-based songwriter who has engaged in several song-a-week experiments.

Take a few listens and you’ll see he’s much better equipped than I am… he’s also got a great following and is able to make a living out of novelty songs.

I first discovered Jonathan while I was in the midst of my World of Warcraft addiction – through a fantastic video featuring his zombie song Re: Your Brains created by a Photoshop developer called Spiff [in his spare time, I’m sure].

Anyway, now that I don’t have WoW, I still have Jonathan’s music.

He’s recently written a great entry on his blog about the economics of making music available for free using Creative Commons (which is why people can ‘collaborate’ and use his material in their own creative efforts) right alongside his efforts to sell merchandise, tickets and even (god forbid) music.

Read his blog entry, Payday!

I will continue to provide my RTRFM stuff for free for now, and should do something about getting my Creative Commons licensing sorted out.

When my dreams come true and I’m able to develop my musical ideas further, I may want to recoup some of my future recording costs by giving people the opportunity to buy songs (of a superior standard to what I currently offer) or allow people to donate… but that’s a matter for the future.

At the moment, I’m just glad people are enjoying what I do and have the opportunity to share it with other people.

By directing them here (hopefully).

Oh… please leave comments… they’re as good as hard currency to me. Until I need to buy something.

Written by Xab

Thursday, March 26, 2009 at 5:40 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. LOVE LOVE LOVE his Zombie song!

    Check out my Zombie Research Society blog:

    http://www.zombieresearch.net

    Hope you like it, and keep up the good work!

    AM

    A. Morisson

    Friday, March 27, 2009 at 3:19 am

  2. Jonathan Coulton referenced in a story about business models for the music industry (new media): http://techdirt.com/articles/20090325/2328214261.shtml

    Xab

    Monday, March 30, 2009 at 11:33 am

  3. I didn’t mind the song he did for portal.

    Also, I quite like the idea that leaving comments on your blog is like paying you. Like some kind of internet-based street worker.

    Now take this comment, and tell me you like it.

    Brett

    Monday, March 30, 2009 at 3:37 pm

  4. Hi Brett! Your comment is worth more than its weight in gold.

    Thanks for your shameless self-promotion, Mr Morrison. It’s what the internets is all about. Now give me a link from your site.

    Xab

    Monday, March 30, 2009 at 3:43 pm


Leave a Reply

