In Conversation with… Sabian Wilde

Marketing Lecturer. Writer. Music Bod. Claims to have coined 'Perthonality'

In Conversation With… Daylight Savings

with one comment

Active thinking

Active thinking

This is weird… I’m going to explain how I *don’t* write a song…

This week’s topic, the much maligned daylight savings… but where to start? I have an idea of where I want to go… a particularly amazing letter to the local paper of Albury-Wodonga (NSW/Victoria border town[s])… you can actually see the writer’s brain clunking away as he writes….

Unfortunately, as the attempted song below proves, it is not the destination that’s important, it’s the journey…

IN CONVERSATION WITH… Daylight Savings

Woke up this morning,
Felt the sun upon my face
Thought, ‘That’s surprising, where’s the curtains?’
But they’d burnt right away

I heard the farmers
Screaming ‘murder’ from the dairy market
Cows are fit to bursting, but I guess
That’s an udder thing*

Daylight saving’s got me wasting half the day complaining
Another hour of sun don’t seem to be worth legislating

No referendum, just an hour to add to your addendum
Two hours behind Sydney, but an hour before Beijing
You read the paper and the crisis happens an hour later
Bank deposits guaranteed except for your daylight savings…

And here, at this point, I realise I can’t go on… I’ve made a boobs joke about a cow and tried to plough through it, but it’s a sure sign there’s nothing good going to come out of this… I call Barr and say, “it’s just not happening, I’m making udder jokes… it’s sub par”

Barr’s suggestion about the udders [and I’m only slightly paraphrasing here]: Milk it.

And I would, if I wasn’t me.

So that’s it… a lesson in why I sometimes don’t head in to the studio – for the benefit of all.

And also, because it’s dark at 5am. Especially now.

Written by Xab

Monday, October 27, 2008 at 12:32 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i think you needed a new slant on dls – like the person from albury – he/she may be a little deluded but at least they’re thinking of new arguments! you started with the tie in with guaranteed deposits. there’s gotta be something in that.
    come on, try again…

    caz

    Tuesday, October 28, 2008 at 2:16 am


Leave a Reply

