In Conversation with… Sabian Wilde

Marketing Lecturer. Writer. Music Bod. Claims to have coined 'Perthonality'

Almost Famous

leave a comment »

Is is cynical to believe that the film Almost Famous is rarely going to get professionally dissed because every fucking critic in the world wishes they were that kid?

Or am I projecting again?

And if I am, am I projecting an image that’s been projected onto me by one guy’s idealised/fictionalised account of what he thought he was when he was too young to really know what kind of image he was projecting?

Now, sometimes, if you project onto something, and it then projects onto something else, it’s like that really cool prism effect that used to mean Pink Floyd’s ‘Dark Side Of The Moon’ but now means odd-smelling middle-aged people hawking crystals in markets…

But when I do it… it’s just obfuscation, innit?

I’m not sure what I’m here for, but I’m pretty sure it’s not to help.

But I will if I can.

Written by Xab

Monday, November 17, 2003 at 1:44 pm

Leave a Reply

